Danielle Steel’s Big Girl

From the publisher’s description:
In this heartfelt and incisive new novel, Danielle Steel celebrates the virtues of unconventional beauty while exploring deeply resonant issues of weight, self-image, sisterhood, and family.

As a big girl myself, I could identify with the main character Victoria. I felt her pain when she had to endure the hatefulness of her mother and father. I understood the emotional turmoil of the failure to meet weight loss goals. I was encouraged by her ability to seek help for the issues that plagued her. I was cheering for her when she found true love – with herself and in another human being.
Is this Steel at her best? No. It was predictable. It wasn’t one of her more dramatic books or one of her most tender. Was it a good read on a lazy summer day – you bet!
I have read most of the Piccoult book – it’s not an easy read. I have never found her books to be easy. Therefore, I must tell you – I have also started reading “The Divide”. So far, I am not captivated like I was with his book “The Loop”. It could still happen. I must tell you that I am ready to finish those two books because I am ready to dive into “Little Bee”. I have heard some good “BUZZ” (don’t worry I won’t quit my day job) about it. However, you are going to have to wait – I’m headed out of town for a week. I’ve also been knee deep in preparation for my newest adventure – teaching college writing. I will return. Happy reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

